Craving // Overalls

In the fifth grade all I wore were overalls. Seriously. I had two pairs and I wore each one almost every other day. My fancy overalls had red flowers stitched on the bib (Oh yeah, I was super cool). After the fifth grade though, I ditched my overalls for some wide flared jeans and cargo pants (yeah, I really wasn’t that cool). But have you noticed that overalls are making a comeback?! My fifth grade self is giddy beyond belief.

So how could an adult woman wear a childish garment such as overalls? Think of them like your regular jeans. And believe it or not, but overalls have become much more chic than when we were wee ones. If I were to wear a pair of distressed jeans, I would wear maybe a jeweled sweater or a simple button-up with a statement necklace. Same thing with overalls, wear some statement pieces and then it won’t feel so “kid-like” or “too young.” With a pair of really nice dark denim jeans I like to wear something a little more loose or care-free, say like a simple baseball tee or a white v-neck with some bright earrings. Try doing the same thing with a dark wash overall, like in my last photo with Blair from Atlantic-Pacific. And lately with graphic pants being on the trend, try a pair of printed overalls. Try polka dots with a floral print or lace with stripes.

Don’t let overalls intimidate you. Give them a whirl, your fifth grade self will thank you.

 

 

B.

chicadore.com

distressed + statement

 

uoionline.com

relaxed + stripes + booties

 

obaz.com

leather + heels

 

deercircus.com

stripes + floral

 

atlanticpacific

dark + baseball + pop of color