Birchbox // July 2013

Birchbox // July 2013

Happy weekend all!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic summer so far, I know I am! First of all, the weather in Seattle has been absolutely superb. Plus, my best friend got married, I ran Ragnar Relay for the fifth year in a row, AND my boyfriend Jon and I just celebrated our fourth anniversary. So I’d say it’s been a pretty amazing summer.

Birchbox’s July products consisted around the theme of Power Play; utilizing your time wisely while balancing all of your summer festivities. Some of the Power Play items I received consisted of:

Color Club, Birchbox and Color Club Collection- Put a Pin In It
I must say, I was pleasantly surprised to see another nail color by Color Club. I am nail polish obsessed these days and this cool pink color with gold undertones contrasts greatly with a summer tan glow. Try it with a minty blue and on every other finger for some fun. Remember to wear it with a base coat, the glitter is stubborn to get off.

Marcelle, BB Cream Golden Glow
There is a list full of benefits for this product: gives an instant glow, evens out skin tones, hydrates, moisturizes, strengthens, soothes, calms, and so much more! With the heat of the sun and our running around from work to backyard BBQs to bonfires on the beach, this cream works great to keep skin in check. Just smooth a few dabs on and make sure to blend it in thoroughly. I made the mistake of using too much and had a hard time to getting it to blend and smooth out the first time I used it.

ModelCo, Party Proof Lipstick
This lip color is so great for summer! It’s bright, vibrant, and of best of all, moisturizing! It’s a long-lasting color that’ll stay with you through your coffee dates with your girls, meetings with clients, and cocktails with friends. I received the Peony color and it’s a creamy almost magenta-like color. I just dab a little on my lips, rub together, and call it good!

Benta Berry, G-1 Moisturizing Face Cream
Hands down, this was my favorite product for the month. This was also the television show SUITS pick of the month. The cream is made out of blueberries and dead nettle which creates a hydrating and purifying solution that works wonders. Just massage some in after washing in the morning and evening. Like I said, this stuff is awesome!

Birchbox, Bobby Pins
Just a short time ago, Birchbox did a makeover and part of their rebrand includes a lot of great patterns. You can see it on their updated website, the inside of the boxes, and this month when you received your bobby pins! I got the white and green patterned ones and I am currently growing my bangs out so these bad boys are working out perfectly! Plus, I have really thick, slick Asian hair and these bobby pins stay in so well!

All of these products have definitely helped me out as I “power play” my way through summer. Although it’s the beginning of August and people are getting pumped for football, chai lattes, and boots season, I am still stuck in the wondrous, magical, and illuminating effect that is summer. So for now, I say cheers to one of the best summers I’ve had in a long time and to the adventures that still await me.

Tell me, what Birchbox products did you receive and how did it help you power play your summer?

B.

One thought on “Birchbox // July 2013

holla back!

